Writing

The Universe Loves a Believer

My class, Finding Markets, ended yesterday and it was seriously one of my favorite classes I’ve ever taken. It was a five-week class dedicated to ways of getting your work published and finding venues where to submit your work. I just learned so much that I’m not sure I would’ve picked up if it weren’t for this course. One of the texts we read in class was The Essential Guide to Getting Your Book Published, and let me tell ya, it’s great! It has so much information on how to get your writing out there to the book publishing journey to finding an agent. I highly recommend it!

Throughout these five weeks, we were given certain assignments that were so interesting and beneficial. There’s two that I absolutely have to mention — writer’s referrals and engaging with an author. For the writer’s referral, we had to find venues to submit our writing for our classmates, and two really great venues that were recommended to me by Karli and Rachel were River Teeth: A Journal of Nonfiction Narrative and bioStories. Since my genre is nonfiction, these venues are wonderful.

If you’re interested, check them out:

River Teeth: A Journal of Nonfiction Narrative

bioStories

Also, while you’re there, read some of the published work because it’s extraordinary!

For the author engagement, we had to either interview and author or attend an author presentation at a bookstore. I attended Lisa Scottoline’s presentation. Scottoline writes legal thrillers. It was just great because I got to learn what the publishing journey is like and specific details when it comes to her books. I’d also highly recommend to engage with author because you find out so much that is beneficial and can help you in the future. Anderson’s Bookshop is great for author presentations if you’re looking for somewhere to attend.

Now on to the last five weeks of this grad school journey. Always believe & never give up!

Leave a Reply

