Your Story is Important

Your Story is Important

My current course, Finalizing Manuscripts, is teaching me so much on how to be a more concise and concrete writer. We’re reading Writer’s Diet by Helen Sword, which also has a website where you can go and test your writing. Check it out:

Writer’s Diet

It’ll tell you how many verbs, nouns, prepositions, etc. are in your story and give you a “diet diagnosis.” I highly recommend it! I’ve been testing so many of my writing pieces on there and love seeing how my writing has changed when I take out excess words.

L E T ‘ S  T A L K   A B O U T . . .

I have written my first three chapters of my memoir. Of course they need more revising, but I couldn’t be more ecstatic. It has definitely been challenging putting the chapters together, but also extremely worth it! I struggle with telling too much and making my writing more active, so that’s what I’m focusing now. Along with more scenes and making my characters stand out. It’s a process, but an exciting one for sure! I love editing, however, I’ll be honest, it’s hard! But that’s also one of the most interesting parts of it. When you’ve finally edited your piece and it’s come together how you want it — best feeling ever. Just keep at it and you’ll get to where you want to be!

The expert in anything was once a beginner.

livre-plage_0.jpg

Leave a Reply

